Dynamics

I have a friend I like to record.  She has a beautiful voice and plays lovely, expressive guitar.

But I have learned more about dynamics from recording her than I could ever learn from a book!  Because she can BELT when she wants to, but she can also whisper, and it’s all melodic, and it all works.  I don’t want to take away her glorious dynamics because of the inherent limitations of my recording equipment.

Buffie, I tell her, I should turn you down, but I don’t WANT to.

That’s what everyone who records me tells me, she says.

 

Leave a Reply

