Dina’s an Angel

One of the women I’m working with right now, Dina Hawthorne, is a supremely talented singer and songwriter who is letting me arrange her music into really nice demo’s.  (That one on reverbnation is not mine, btw.)  We’ve almost finished our first song, which I will post as soon as it’s done.  In the meantime, it’s been such a valuable learning experience moving into not just recording, but arranging.

When Dina came to me with her songs, I knew it was going to be a challenge to take an a capella melody and turn it into an entire arrangement using just my keyboard and Live.  But Dina knows what she’s doing– she’s been around studios and is familiar with the music industry.  So when I asked her to sing it to a click, she knew what I meant and nailed it.

Then I picked out the melody, found the chords I wanted, and started building the song.  God damn, but I love composing with a midi editor, and Ableton Live has a nice one.  For example, I don’t like to use preset arpeggio effects because I want more control than that, but it only takes a second to draw an arpeggio, you know?

And Dina says she likes working with me– “You don’t always tell me your way is the only way,” she says.

Collaboration makes better music.

Leave a Reply

