Goodbye, myspace?

I’m working on a new project– an Arts and Entertainment magazine for Bushwick called The Well.  We’ll have a blog up very shortly.

Anyways, I’m doing the event listings for Goodbye Blue Monday, so that people have just a little basic info about the bands playing on a given night.

To make this happen, I found myself using myspace, reverbnation, and the bands’ own websites.  I’d say it was about 75% myspace.

Thing is, the fact that myspace sucks is well-concluded.  But a lot of bands just starting out still use it, and it was certainly invaluable for my listings search.

But it might not be up to me.  According to a Nov 4 article in the Guardian, Rupert might pull the plug on myspace any quarter now.

So the argument is moot.  I mean, at this point, it’s kind of a mercy killing.

Leave a Reply

