THE SECRET THE MUSIC INDUSTRY DOESN’T WANT YOU TO KNOW (NOT)

I swear, the music industry cracks me up sometimes. I’m signed up with BMI as a songwriter, because you have to sign up with someone, them’s the rules. I’ve read enough painful books to understand that.

But oh my god they send me the lamest shit sometimes. I’m not going to link, because I’m sure the gentleman who wrote this piece is a well-intentioned professional. But here’s his three rules for what you need to do when you first meet a song publisher:

(1) Don’t be late. Insightful!

(2) Don’t bring in crappy recordings. Brilliant!

(3) Crappy or not, don’t bring in a million songs.

Oh, and the extra super tip? Write a thank you note.

Well, BMI, you got your clicky from me. Good job. I swear, I should start writing posts with general common-sense pointers and headline them THE SECRET THE MUSIC INDUSTRY DOESN’T WANT YOU TO KNOW. Oh, wait, I just did. So here’s my secret: Don’t be a sucker, and use your common goddam sense.

Leave a Reply

